DIY Holiday Gifts that are Fun to Make AND to Receive

 

As you may have noticed before, I LOVE to make crafts. So when it came time to figure out what type of presents to give two of my best girlfriends, I knew I wanted it to be something made by hand.

Porcelain pens are a great way to spruce up any plain old dishes you already have, or in my case, make a special gift for someone! I found mine online at amazon.com. This set is a bit pricey, but there are 9 pens in the pack, and they will last you for many projects to come. Consider them an investment. You could also order single colors by themselves if you know you will only be using one or two.


Porcelain Pens for DIY Holiday Gifts

Porcelain PensI simply wrote my message directly onto the plate, let dry for about a day, then followed the instructions on the pens to bake the plates so the paint would set. If you happen to make a mistake while writing, simply wipe the paint off before it dries with a damp paper towel.

 

I was thrilled with how these turned out! The color is really bright, and looks incredible on the white plates. Of course, now I have this itch to paint and decorate all the dishes in my kitchen.

Wellman_DIYThroughTheHolidays_Picture3

But wait! There’s more!

You may have created the perfect gift for that perfect someone, but you still need to wrap it. Otherwise, WHERE is the fun Christmas morning!?

To stick with the DIY theme, this year I decided to make my own wrappings out of builders paper. I found mine at Menards, so for around $11 I got 140 feet of paper! Sound the super savings alarm! Not only will this stuff last me through the holidays and then some, it’s perfect to lay on the floor as a drop cloth while painting.

Wellman_DIYThroughTheHolidays_Picture6

Before wrapping the gifts up, I drew a funky pattern on the paper to make them a bit prettier. This was my absolute favorite part of this project! The variation of patterns you could come up with are endless. Depending on what the occasion is, you could customized each one with different designs. Or even just write the special someone’s name really big on it. Glue sequins, color a picture, write a love letter, any idea is perfect.

Wellman_DIYThroughTheHolidays_Picture7

Wellman_DIYThroughTheHolidays_Picture8

The tags are a few simple holiday designs I made on the computer. I just printed them on paper, cut each one out with a circle paper punch, another quick punch at the top for the ribbon to go through, and done. If you look online, there are a ton of sites that have free templates you can download and print yourself like this one  or this one. You could also whip out some paper and draw your own!

Wellman_DIYThroughTheHolidays_Picture9

I also grabbed some cotton string, and a few random spools of ribbon that were at Walmart for $1. They don’t have a lot of ribbon on each one, but for a buck, they’re totally worth it.

Wellman_DIYThroughTheHolidays_Picture10

Hopefully everyone enjoys their presents as much as I enjoyed wrapping them!

I personally adore getting hand-made gifts, it says “You are special enough to me that I took the time out of my insane life to make this for you!!!!!”

If that isn’t Christmas love, I don’t know what is. 🙂

Best wishes to you and your loved ones this year, and I hope you have a safe and very merry holiday season!

Bethany is a graphic designer by day, self proclaimed decorator/maker of things by night! Though originally from a small farming town, she found herself in the big city of Cincinnati, OH after graduating from Ball State University with a BFA in Visual Communications. When she’s not working on design, you can find her dance-cooking in the kitchen, singing at the top of her lungs, exploring the closest thrift store, getting her fitness on, or fixing up her house alongside her hubby. Be sure to check out her little corner of the interweb, A Soliloquy by Bethany. Got a question for Bethany? Write to writers@strongisoursexy.com.

About Bethany W

Graphic Designer by day, self proclaimed decorator and creator of things by night!
This entry was posted in Lifestyle & Sisterhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DIY Holiday Gifts that are Fun to Make AND to Receive

  1. Pingback: 15 Gift Ideas to Own Your Strong | Own Your Strong by Bella Forza Fitness

Share your thoughts

