27 Resolutions for a Strong & Sexy 2015

Living a Strong & Sexy life means being honest with yourself, owning your successes and your shortcomings, and striving to be all that you can be. In that spirit, we came together to share some of our own resolutions for a strong, sexy new year.

Not only is there power in making a public commitment, we hope to inspire you on your own journey towards your goals! Feel free to share your own resolutions in the comments, on Facebook, or in a tweet to @StrongisOurSexy. Let’s show 2015 who’s boss!

Our 27 Resolutions for a Strong and Sexy New Year

Beth

Founder of Strong is Our Sexy
  • Be a positive influence on my daughter.Influence my daughter more positively.  I find myself occasionally using negative words around her.  My goal is to speak and expand on the positive influences that surround her so that she can continue to build her confidence and self-worth.
  • Earmark time for my husband and I to do more adventurous activities with each other.
  • Give back to the community & contribute for a cause – either with time or financially.  We have considered becoming foster parents, and I would like to look into that further.
  • Ensure that Strong is Our Sexy has a national mark by the year’s end, and that I have either spoken or will be speaking at a few public engagements.

Lisa

Wife, mom, and rescuer of cats

Start dating my husband againI resolve to start dating again in 2015. 2014 was all about our baby, but in 2015 I want to start dating my husband again. It’s easy to let other relationships be pushed aside when there’s something else demanding your attention, but I want to rekindle some romance and fun with my husband – dinners out, movie nights, and fun activities like museums, sporting events, and dancing.

Bethany

Graphic designer by day, crafter and decorator by night
  • My “simple but effective” resolution is to give more compliments. Whenever I receive a compliment, no matter how miniscule, a part of me gets super giddy and a silly smile takes over my face. Recognizing someone’s talent or success, and showing them appreciation, is an easy way to spread more giddy feelings and silly smiles throughout the world.
  • My resolution “for others” is to focus more on my husband. Although we’ve been together for more than 10 years, my husband and I have only been married for a little over two. Marriage, as we quickly discovered, is a whole new ballgame. We still find ourselves trying to figure out how to be a happy and healthy couple, even after a decade of practice. Since getting married we’ve moved cities, started new jobs, and immersed ourselves in a culture that is completely different than the one we grew up in. I’ve caught myself being so distracted by everything going on in my life, that our life together became neglected. I need to make time specifically for my husband’s needs; he really is a great partner, and deserves everything I can possible give him.
  • Get a new tattooMy “funky” resolution is to get another tattoo. I already have a few, and have been itching to get another one for a couple years now. My youngest sister has also been constantly reminding us that she turns 18 in 2015, so what better time for the four of us to get our matching sister ink?!

Julia

Woman about town and PR/Marketing guru for Strong is Our Sexy
  • Be more responsible with my money. Save a little from EACH paycheck and be ready for tax season! I plan to sit down with my accountant and create a plan to handle my finances better. I also will start an IRA.
  • Travel moreTravel more. It is a passion of mine, and I have not gotten to travel as much as I have liked to in the past. I plan to start saving to go on more trips that inspire me!
  • Be OK that nothing is truly in my control, and learn to go with the flow more. I get anxiety over things that are not in my control. I put other people’s needs before my own often, and this is why I get stressed out. I plan to make myself my first priority, and learn that it is OK to say No.

Alison

Sports fan, fitness buff, and student in dietary science
  • Find peace at the end of each day. I plan to turn off electronics 30 minutes before I go to sleep. Watching TV, staring at your phone or a computer can trick your brain into thinking it’s daytime. Disconnect to help you wind down, decompress and sleep better!
  • One In, One OUtOne in, One out. In an attempt to de-clutter my house (and life), I will get rid of as many things as I take in. If I buy three pieces of clothing, I will donate three pieces of clothing. This will help determine if I need new things and also get rid of items that have been sitting for far too long.

Amanda

Healthcare worker, adjunct professor, and financial literacy advocate
  • Fund my Roth IRA. Fully fund my Roth account prior to April 15th.  Funding with a lump sum makes all of the exchange traded funds that I invest in sensible.
  • Floss my teeth every day.  I really need to get better at the flossing, plus I feel bad when I try to pass off good flossing habits at the dentist.
  • Listen to people.  I have noticed that most people do not want you to fix their problem, or tell them how to fix their problem.  They want you to listen to the problem.  I am a “fixer” by nature.
  • Pay attention to my own health.  I have drowned myself in work and side jobs, and have ignored my own health over the past year.  This has come back to bite me.

Jackie

Former Spanish teacher pursuing her dream career out West
  • Let loose a little more. I find that I can be very structured, almost to a fault. Sure, I know how to have fun, but sometimes I wish I could throw caution to the wind more often. My goal is to try to ditch ‘the plans’ once in a while and be more spontaneous.
  • If you got it, flaunt it. This is something my hubby says to me all the time. I admit I can be a little conservative with my fashion choices. Since going natural with my hair, I’ve really tried to take more risks with what I wear and mix it up. I want my clothes to reflect my personality.
  • Don’t say it, do it! Another nugget of wisdom from my hubby (he’s pretty smart). I have a lot of dreams that I want to make reality. This year, instead of dreaming about it, I want to make it happen.
  • Take my fitness regimen to the next levelTake my fitness regimen to the next level. I have a couple of pole fitness and other fitness goals that I want to accomplish before the end of 2015. I plan on increasing my training and taking workshops/classes to help meet those goals.

Kendra

Single mom of 3 and jill of all trades, especially those that empower women
  • Clean eatingGetting clean in 2015! I plan on focusing on clean eating and healthier food choices! I will get off to a great start by participating in the “New Year New You” Challenge at Bella Forza Fitness. I also plan on changing up what I purchase from the grocery store for not only myself, but my famil,y too!
  • Focusing on my career. In 2014, I really took a break and was focused on me and my family. I plan on getting a few more certifications in fitness and really helping people, especially women, feel better about themselves inside and out with fitness. I also have a couple of direct sales businesses that I need to start putting more attention into. Getting more organized with time management will help with this! Focusing on one thing a day will give me better results than trying to do several things for different businesses in one day.
  • Getting my house rehab finished. I have procrastinated long enough. I will break down what needs to be done, and make goals and deadlines when things need to be completed either by me or the contractor. I love doing interior construction and let life excuses get in the way of finishing, so now is the time to get it done!

Marisa

Professional writing coach, lover of dogs, and Editor for Strong is Our Sexy
  • Stick to a budget. Inspired by fellow Strong is Our Sexy writer Amanda, I’ve started paying a lot more attention to my spending habits, and using spreadsheets and my online banking tools to keep track of where my money goes – even more important now that I’m self-employed.
  • Read and write for pleasureRead & write for pleasure, not just business. I got my degree in creative writing in 2008, but since graduation, I shifted into professional mode and kept pushing my leisure reading and creative writing to the back burner, and it’s been harder and harder every year to get back into it. In 2015, I will finish a draft of my novel.
  • Respect my limits. I have a lot more ambition and enthusiasm than I have capacity to do everything I want to do. I keep a lot of irons in the fire at all times and frequently take on more than I can handle, causing myself heaps of unnecessary stress.  It’s a cycle I’ve become aware of in the last year or so, and I want to break that cycle.

Don’t forget, we want to hear about yours, too! Stay tuned in January for tips on sticking with your resolutions.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

This entry was posted in Lifestyle & Sisterhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

