Meet the Strong is Our Sexy Writers: Bethany

Get to know the babes behind the blog! Today, we introduce you to Bethany, frequent contributor to the “Lifestyle & Sisterhood” category where she writes about craft projectsbeautifying her home, and her killer spaghetti sauce, among other things.

The Basics of Bethany

Bethany and husband

Bethany and her husband Eric

Name: Bethany Wellman

Age: 25

Occupation: Graphic Designer

Family: Married to my husband for 2 years now.

Favorite exercise & fitness activities

My absolute favorite fitness activity is pole dance fitness, and I will make my debut as a pole fitness instructor this month! Other ways I like to stay active include Zumba, running, lifting weights, doing handstands, and playing volleyball. I’m also a self-proclaimed professional dance floor enthusiast!

Favorite foods & cuisines

I LOVE to cook, so any dish I can make myself is at the top of my list. But when it comes to favorites, Italian is one of my absolutes. I also can’t seem to get enough bananas, and don’t even get me started on peanut butter!

Favorite outfits to bring out your Sexy

One of my mantras is “If you can work it, you can wear it! Confidence is your fiercest accessory.” Anytime I want to bring out my sexy, I simply put on something that makes me feel GOOD about myself. Incredibly high heels are my power piece of choice. I find myself standing straighter, walking taller (literally and figuratively), not to mention how fantastic they make my booty look!

bethany in a handstandWhat are you passionate about?

I sometimes think I have too many passions. Anything that feeds my creative spirit is something I am passionate about. You name it, and I probably have a bit of my heart dedicated to it. Since I was a child, I’ve been drawing, which lead me to adore art and fill countless sketchbooks. That’s a hobby that helped earn me my Bachelor of Fine Arts, and is still a major part of my life today as a graphic designer.

I also am extremely passionate about music, singing, and performing. In high school I was the girl who was in every school play, sang in the choir, danced in glee club, took vocal lessons, played in the band, and knew every song to every Broadway show original cast album she could get her hands on.

OK, let’s be honest…I’m STILL that girl, just in a more mature and way cooler adult version!

What do you do to relax?

When I have time, I find reading to be the most relaxing thing on Earth. I recently was on vacation for a week, and finished two books. It was heaven. There is just something about curling up with a good story, and getting completely lost in the pages, that is indescribable.

What does the “Strong is Our Sexy” philosophy mean to you?

bethany3_crop_siosBack in 2012, I lost 30 pounds, and really started to look at my appearance, self-confidence, and lifestyle choices in a completely different light. Fitness was never on my agenda, and now it’s an absolute necessity. And even though I’ve kept the weight off, and it’s been years since I was at my heaviest, I still found myself fighting with that number on the scale. Finally I said ENOUGH!!!! Just because my number on the scale isn’t going down, does NOT mean I’m not making progress. I am so much stronger than I’ve ever been, and I would much rather gain a bit of muscle weight, than be weak but weigh less.

So to me, that is what being strong and sexy is about. Loving myself, realizing just how far I’ve come, and how much healthier and stronger I am compared to the old version of me. THAT is the real victory.

 

Catch up on Bethany’s articles here and write to her at writers@strongisoursexy.com. 

This entry was posted in meet the writers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

