What I Learned on the Road to California

Packing all of my belongings and traveling across the country has always been a dream of mine. The idea of starting over and pursuing my dreams is something I’ve always wanted to do.

This past summer, I finally got my chance. My husband was accepted into his dream graduate program, and the move would also allow me to pursue my aspirations of working in television.

what i learned on the road to california

Prepping for the Move from Ohio to California

The Road to California Pic 1- Prepping for the MoveIt would have been nice to take all of our things to California, but this just wasn’t possible. We were traveling with three dogs and car space was limited. And Monterey was only a pit stop before moving to Los Angeles.

Once we figured out the logistics, downsizing became one of our top priorities. Little by little, we started donating or giving away things that we didn’t need. It was surprising how much we had accumulated in the span of a year or more.

Now, I wish I could say this process was easy for me, but it wasn’t. I tend to have sentimental attachment to almost everything, which makes it difficult for me part with things. There were many conversations and sometimes debates about things I insisted on bringing with us.

In the end, I realized that only bringing the essentials made the most sense for us. When it was all said and done, we were able to fit all of the essentials, plus our three dogs, into one car. And now that I’m here, I don’t miss any of the things that we left behind.

 Saying Goodbye

Honestly, this was the hardest part of the process. In the days and weeks leading up to the move, there were moments of panic, stress, excitement and sadness. Moving away meant that we would miss out on a lot of big moments in the lives of our family and friends.

The Road to California- Pic 2-Saying Goodbye

While it got me one step closer to my dreams, I still struggled with being so far away from the people that had such a huge impact on my life. So, I did my best to spend time with as many of my friends and family as I could.

I know that wherever my career takes me, I will always be appreciative of the love and support back home. Even though my career goals matter to me, staying connected to everyone means just as much, if not more. I’ve made it my mission to keep those relationships intact.

The Trek Out West

Finally, the big day arrived and we were off to California.

One of the best parts of the trip was passing through states I had never visited before. Before the trip, I had ideas of what the west would be like. I envisioned us stopping to explore and finding neat places off the beaten path. But, with three dogs, our only stops were to make sure they were fed and exercised.

The first two days of the trip were full of excitement and energy. I tried to capture every moment of the trip to share with everyone back home. Driving for twelve hours or more each day didn’t seem so bad.But by day three even the dogs were over the trip and wanted to be out of the car.

At one point, it seemed like we were never going to get there. After three days and thirty eight hours on the road, we finally made it to Monterey, California. I had never felt so much relief in my life.

The Road to California- A pic of me in Monterey

Moving across country is something that I will never forget. Even though it meant taking a big risk and going out into the unknown, I know that it will pay off in the end.

A former Spanish teacher, Jackie is now pursuing her dream of working in television. When she’s not blogging or writing, she loves to travel with her husband, work out, spend time with their three dogs, and soak up as much sunshine as possible. Jackie is happiest when she is being active. To follow her natural hair journey and other adventures, check out her blog. Got a question for Jackie? Write to writers@strongisoursexy.com.

This entry was posted in Lifestyle & Sisterhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

