Insanely Easy Fresh Garden Salsa is Perfect for Parties

insanely easy fresh garden salsa

My husband and I have these friends who are super fun. The reason they are super fun is because they always invite us over to their house.

While over at their super fun house, we play lots of pool, listen to music, drink yummy beverages, and eat a TON of food. And because they are super NICE as well as super fun, without fail, we will end up bringing home as much food as we showed up with, if not more.

Like my husband and me, our friends are major foodies, which is one of the reasons we love them. People who are willing to try anything and everything have a special place in my heart. Truth time: picky eaters drive me bonkers!

When they asked us to join them again last Saturday, and requested we bring a snack or appetizer, I knew I needed a game plan. Personally, I have yet to shake that “constantly full” feeling from the holidays. I know, I know, that all ended weeks ago, but we still seem to have so many desserts lingering around, I find myself constantly snacking.

So while searching for a dish to bring, I tried to focus on something light and on the healthier side. That’s when I stumbled upon a recipe my cousin had shared with me years ago: Fresh Garden Salsa! This stuff is delicious, and so quick and easy to make, it’s ridiculous.

Ingredients

fresh garden salsa ingredients

1 15oz can black beans

1 15oz can white corn

1 15oz can diced tomatoes with chilies

1 orange bell pepper, chopped

½ red onion, chopped

8oz Italian dressing (or more to taste)

Directions

Gather all of your ingredients, as well as a large bowl, cutting board, and knife. Open the cans of black beans, corn, and tomatoes, and rinse each of them before adding to the bowl.

fresh garden salsa ingredients

Chop the bell pepper and onion into tiny pieces.

Wellman_GardenSalsa_Picture4 fresh garden salsa prep

Add vegetables to the bowl and mix in the Italian dressing. I always start with around 8oz and then add a bit more if I think it needs more flavor.

fresh garden salsa assembly

And that’s it!

Serve with your favorite tortilla chips, or add it to a salad for an extra punch of flavor. It’s also really tasty mixed with chicken for tacos!

Wellman_GardenSalsa_Picture7

I just love the variation of color this salsa has –it’s absolutely gorgeous! With fresh veggies, and lots of protein, this dish is truly a winner for anyone trying to please a crowd while also keeping things nutritious.

Enjoy!

Bethany is a graphic designer by day, self proclaimed decorator/maker of things by night! Though originally from a small farming town, she found herself in the big city of Cincinnati, OH after graduating from Ball State University with a BFA in Visual Communications. When she’s not working on design, you can find her dance-cooking in the kitchen, singing at the top of her lungs, exploring the closest thrift store, getting her fitness on, or fixing up her house alongside her hubby. Be sure to check out her little corner of the interweb, A Soliloquy by Bethany. Got a question for Bethany? Write to writers@strongisoursexy.com.

About Bethany W

Graphic Designer by day, self proclaimed decorator and creator of things by night!
This entry was posted in Health & Wellness, Lifestyle & Sisterhood and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

