Tried-and-True Tips to Pack for a Weekend Trip (Guest Post)

This guest post comes to us from Natalie Folchi of the blog CincinNatalie, where she writes with wit about life & style in the Queen City. 

 

Packing for a weekend trip can be challenging. You want to have options, but you don’t want to over-pack. Believe me, I’ve been there. I used to be the girl who’d cram her entire closet in a suitcase. My former method was inefficient, poorly-planned and weighed me down — literally.

Luckily, my over-packing days are over. I’ve been on countless weekend trips over the years, and have picked up a few tips that have helped me pack smarter. I hope these tips will help you prepare for your next trip!

Clothing

When selecting your wardrobe for a weekend trip, just remember — it’s all about being strategic. I challenge myself to pack as little as possible, and love mixing and matching pieces to create different looks. You can wear a dress on its own with heels, under a chunky sweater with ankle boots or under a tied button up shirt with sandals. Different outfit combinations can easily take you from a day of sight seeing to dinner at a nice restaurant.

weekend trip outfit planning

Instead of packing pieces separately, pick a color scheme and try putting outfits together. This will encourage you to leave behind random items you won’t wear.

Shoes

Having different footwear options is great, but that doesn’t mean you need to bring three pairs of heels, “just in case.” Instead, pack a versatile pair of flats or sandals, a pair of heels or wedges and a pair of gym shoes. Three pairs will easily get you through the weekend, and save you extra room in your suitcase.

Makeup and Skincare

2015march_natalie4rs

When it comes to beauty products, I try to pack products that play two roles. This Clinique cream blush acts as a beautiful lip color when I need it. I’m a cosmetic junkie, but when traveling, I only carry the products I wear on a daily basis.

With skincare, I leave the bigger bottles at home and keep it simple — a cleansermoisturizer with SPF 30serumnight cream and body lotion. If I’m heading to the beach, sunscreen is a must.

2015march_natalie3rs

 

Extra Packing Tips

  1. Spritz clothing with fabric Febreze to prevent any musty smells
  2. Roll clothing to save room
  3. Keep a Tide To-Go pen on hand to combat accidental spills while traveling
  4. Refresh on-the-go with cooling facial wipes

What are some of your favorite packing tips? 

CincinNatalie is a life and style blog that focuses on budget-friendly fashion, Cincinnati’s restaurant scene and small businesses that help make it a great place to live, work and play.

This entry was posted in Lifestyle & Sisterhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tried-and-True Tips to Pack for a Weekend Trip (Guest Post)

  1. Pingback: How to Pack for a Weekend Trip | CincinNatalie

Share your thoughts

