No More Excuses, Moms: Take Care of Yourselves

Let’s be honest.

I recently created a fitness space in my home so that I would be able to get in great workouts at home, and wouldn’t have to worry about child care, gym hours, or travel time. Sounds like a great plan, right?

cat makes excuses not to work out

What. It’s heavy.

Fast forward about three months, and I’ve used the pole twice. I’ve gotten in a little bit of exercise, but haven’t used the pole, which was the main reason to set up the fitness room in the first place.

Why?

Well, I was hosting Thanksgiving and had to get the house and food ready. Then it was Christmas shopping and getting holiday plans and travel in order. Then we hosted our daughter’s first birthday party. Then she was sick, then I was sick – which of course lasted longer for me. My sinuses hate me. Then my daughter got sick again, which meant two more weeks of sinus congestion for me.

Mix in chasing my wild child around, keeping the house clean, taking some social and “me” time, and being tired after the little one went to bed each night.

When I finally listed all these things out loud to a friend, I got to the end of the list and said, “Wow, that’s a lot of excuses. What a load of crap.”

I’ve heard it said before, and I know it’s true:

If you truly WANT to do something, you will FIND the time for it.

Ever since that conversation with my friend, I have been much more aware of my time management. I’m trying to kick the habit of making excuses.

mom walking with strollerDuring my excuse period, I gained weight and lost strength. Strength I had worked hard for, and was so proud to have. Now I’m getting back on track, and making sure to get moving every day.

Sometimes it’s a long walk in the neighborhood with my daughter, or 20 minutes of yoga during her naptime. Sometimes I make it to my pole room for a workout and a little play time. Other times I hold planks while my lunch is in the microwave. The time is there, and there is no excuse not to utilize it more productively.

Even if my daughter gives me another cold, I will keep going. I may have to modify or reduce my workouts, but I will keep moving.

Mom Body, Strong Body

There are no excuses to not take care of myself. There are challenges and distractions, but these are not excuses. They are exactly what they are – challenges and distractions.

Challenges make it harder to accomplish what I want when I want to accomplish it, but that doesn’t mean it can’t be done. Distractions may delay or tempt me, but I will try not to give in, at least not all the time. I will be trying very hard to resist getting as distracted as I let myself get earlier this year.

I will be working on time management and focus. So far, lists have been my best friend. I keep a “nap time to do list” of priorities for each day, reminding me of what’s important to accomplish.

I am a work in progress. Before writing this, I spent twenty minutes poking around on the internet…

 

More like this:

Lisa is a wife and mom of a baby girl. She enjoys trying out new forms of exercise and fitness, but her favorites are pole dance fitness, aerial silks, and yoga. She also volunteers some of her spare time to a local cat rescue. Since discovering her sexy strength a couple years ago, she is the happiest she has been her whole life, and is happy to share it with you. Got a question for Lisa? Write to writers@strongisoursexy.com

 

This entry was posted in Health & Wellness, Motherhood & Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

