Your Accomplishments are Off the Scale – So Celebrate Them!

A version of this article originally appeared at A Soliloquy by Bethany and is reused with her permission. 

Wellman_OffTheScale_Picture1

A while back, a good friend sent me this quote when I was feeling particularly down. I had hit a pretty long plateau with my weight loss, and the frustration was eating away at me. Nothing I did seemed to help me get closer to my goal.

Yes, I complained, and yes, I knew I needed to be grateful and proud of what I’d accomplished so far. But when your progress is determined by a number, it’s hard to feel like you’re succeeding when it hasn’t changed in a year and a half.

THAT was the problem.

I had been focused entirely TOO HARD on those little digital numbers that flash up at me from the scale every week.

The theme of the Strong is Our Sexy blog this month is Body Image, and I’ve decided to try and find one Off the Scale Victory to celebrate every day.

These OSV’s can be anything from “I didn’t snack on the ingredients while cooking”, “ran an extra 5 minutes on the treadmill”, to “totally caught that guy checking me out!” Anything that boosts my spirits, makes me feel GOOD about myself, and deserves an inner high-five!

And being the designer that I am, I’ve created a little list to help record each of my Off the Scale Victories. One version is a generic list, while the other is perfect to use during the week.

Wellman_OffTheScale_Picture2

Wellman_OffTheScale_Picture3  Wellman_OffTheScale_Picture4

So if you also need to focus on those Off the Scale Victories like me, you can download these lists by following the links below!

“My Off The Scale Victories” List 

7 Day “My Off The Scale Victories” List 

Everyone needs to celebrate a little more in their life, whether it’s the giant hurdles, or the smallest of leaps. Take time to give yourself the self love you deserve!

Bethany is a graphic designer by day, self proclaimed decorator/maker of things by night! Though originally from a small farming town, she found herself in the big city of Cincinnati, OH after graduating from Ball State University with a BFA in Visual Communications. When she’s not working on design, you can find her dance-cooking in the kitchen, singing at the top of her lungs, exploring the closest thrift store, getting her fitness on, or fixing up her house alongside her hubby. Be sure to check out her little corner of the interweb, A Soliloquy by Bethany. Got a question for Bethany? Write to writers@strongisoursexy.com.

About Bethany W

Graphic Designer by day, self proclaimed decorator and creator of things by night!
This entry was posted in Body Image Month, Health & Wellness, Lifestyle & Sisterhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

