My Waistline vs. The Cheesecake Factory: Doing it Right

July 30th is NATIONAL CHEESECAKE DAY!

Wellman_Cheesecake_1

When I think cheesecake, I think of one place: The Cheesecake Factory.

Since making the switch to a healthier lifestyle, going to restaurants has been a new type of challenge. I do eat out often, and most of the time I have no problem finding a great menu choice that won’t undo my entire day, but a few restaurants still trip me up.

The Cheesecake Factory is one of those places. Luckily, it is not a usual dining location for me; I can honestly say I go about once a year, but still…have you SEEN their portion sizes?!?!?!? It’s insane!

According to the book Eat This, Not That the Cheesecake Factory’s Bistro Shrimp Pasta has the calorie equivalent of 14 Krispy Kreme Original Glazed Doughnuts. That’s 2,730 calories!

Holy heart attack.

So you can image my anxiety when we decided to dine there. The last time I visited this factory of indulgence though, there was an extremely pleasant surprise sitting atop the short novel that is their menu.

The Cheesecake Factory SKINNYLICIOUS MENU!

Wellman_Cheesecake_2

Behold! 15 entrees under 590 calories, and 12 appetizers under 490 calories. And everything sounded absolutely wonderful. I ordered the white chicken chili, while my mom got the shrimp creole, and both were completely satisfying. They also feature a handful of adult beverages including a mojito, margarita, and a red wine sangria, which was suuuper yummy.

I did indulge in dessert because CHEESECAKE, and it was totally worth it. My favorite is the Lemon Raspberry; it is pretty light so you don’t end up feeling like a rock is sitting in your gut the rest of the night. They also have several low-carb cheesecakes to choose from, as well as a simple bowl of fresh strawberries.

Wellman_Cheesecake_3

I think this is fantastic business decision for The Cheesecake Factory. If you’re going to serve dishes that have over 3,000 calories, you can at least offer a lighter dining option to balance it out.

If you’d rather indulge in this national holiday at home, below are some killer cheesecake recipes to try yourself!

Watching that waistline:

Go ahead, treat yo’ self:

I hope you celebrate this delicious food day with vigor! Remember, everything is fine in moderation…or you could eat the whole cake.

No judgement here!

(Note: All opinions expressed here are Bethany’s. She was in no way deliciously compensated by the Cheesecake Factory for this post.)

About Bethany W

Graphic Designer by day, self proclaimed decorator and creator of things by night!
This entry was posted in Lifestyle & Sisterhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.