Finding That Inner Rock Star, One Karaoke Bar At A Time

kar·a·o·ke.ˌkerēˈōkē/. noun. A form of entertainment, offered typically by bars and clubs, in which people take turns singing popular songs into a microphone over prerecorded backing tracks.

Alternative definition: shout-singing to your favorite Michael Jackson song, while simultaneously attempting to moonwalk, AND hit every high pitched “OoH!”.

I love Karaoke.

There, I said it.

Nothing gets me more hyped up than watching someone transform into Sasha Fierce mode and try their absolute hardest to bring down the house. It takes guts to get up in front of people and sing, so even if you’re worse than Kimberly Wallace in My Best Friend’s Wedding, I applaud you, sir!

The first time I ever ventured onto the karaoke stage, I was 13. I believe my song of choice was “From This Moment On” by Shania Twain. Yup. Shania was my go-to even back in the day. I remember being super nervous, but thinking; “I already know every word…this really shouldn’t be that hard.” And you know what? It wasn’t! I killed it,  and Ms. Twain would’ve been proud.

The beauty of karaoke is that people tend to cheer even if the singer sucks isn’t vocally blessed — in fact, sometimes that makes it even better. But if you’re still feeling a little mic-skittish, here are some tips and tricks to keep in mind before your big karaoke debut.

Pick a song you’re already SUPER familiar with.

If you go up knowing every rhyme to “Baby Got Back” ahead of time, Oh my God. Becky, nothing will be able to stop you.

Choose a crowd-pleaser.

There are certain songs that no matter who is singing, EVERYONE will join in. “Sweet Caroline”, “Livin’ On a Prayer”, “Don’t Stop Believing”, “Friends In Low Places”, “You’ve Lost That Loving Feeling”. Pick your fav and run with it.

woman singing karaokeReconsider singing a ballad.

When the place is hoppin’, nothing is more of a buzzkill than having to listen to a SUPER slow song. Also, they’re called power ballads for a reason. So unless you can bring the power, or are Whitney herself, steer clear of “I Will Always Love You”.

Bring a friend!

Misery loves company, so if you’re terrified beyond belief, drag your bestie up there too and melt some faces together! “(I’ve Had) The Time Of My Life”, “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough”, “Summer Nights”, all classics. You can DUET!

Knock back a few.

If all else fails, having a little (or a lot, no judgement) bit of liquid courage has never been known to take away from an epic karaoke performance.

HAVE FUN!

Fake it till you make it, my friend. Even if you can’t carry a tune to save your life, if you’re smiling, laughing, dancing around and having a great time, your audience will be, too! Whatever it is you have to offer, just commit and give it 100%.

Of course, you have no reason to believe that ANY of this advice actually works without some proof. Well, ladies and gentlemen, prepare yourselves for a treat. I have here for you, three epic B&E Wellman karaoke performances all for your viewing pleasure.

Just promise me the next time the opportunity arises to whip out some insane sing-along skills, you grab that microphone with both hands, look directly at those lyrics slowly moving up the screen, and OWN IT, BABY!

 

 

 

About Bethany W

Graphic Designer by day, self proclaimed decorator and creator of things by night!
This entry was posted in Lifestyle & Sisterhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.