Book Review: Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling

By now, anyone who knows me knows that I am obsessed with Mindy Kaling. My girl crush/obsession began during Mindy’s time as Kelly Kapoor on The Office. Something about her portrayal of the crazy and irrational Kapoor made me love her.

Although I found her on delightful and entertaining on The Office, I didn’t hop on The Mindy Project bandwagon until the end of the first season, at the urging of my sister. Once I started watching, I was hooked.

Then I stumbled on her first book Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns). This hilarious collection of essays about her childhood, life in New York City and writing for The Office solidified my admiration for her. So when she revealed that another book was in the works last fall, I began counting down the days until it hit the stands.

If you’re not already obsessed with Kaling, her sophomore book Why Not Me? will make you a believer. She continues to share stories about her life such as dating, the struggles of forging new friendships and of course her career. She also shares the Hollywood “secrets” behind her on-screen and red carpet beauty:

“The first thing you need to know is that the hair on your head is worthless. The color, the length, the thickness, everything. You will never see anyone on TV sporting their own God-given hair, unless it’s on, like, a sad miniseries about factory workers in East Germany.”

In the essay “I Love Sex Scenes!” Kaling exposes the truth about how actors really feel about filming love scenes with other actors.  One of my favorite essays is a series of emails from her “alternate life” as a Latin teacher in a prep school in the Upper East Side of New York City.

Kaling’s writing is smart, funny, sassy and down to earth and her stories leave you wanting more. Aside from the comical and entertaining essays, she also shares personal aspects of her life that we can all relate to. Whether it’s navigating the world of dating, maintaining a positive body image or dealing with the realization that friendships change with age, reading thisbook is like reading your own inner thoughts.

Why Not Me? will make you laugh, smile, nod in agreement and long for the day when you can be BFFs with Mindy. In the meantime, let’s pray that there is a third book in the works.

What’s on your bookshelf this fall? Share your favorite reads (including audiobooks and ebooks!) in the comments!

This entry was posted in Lifestyle & Sisterhood and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.