What We’re Grateful For, 2015 Edition

Although Thanksgiving is a time to eat your heart out with family and friends, it is also a time to reflect on all of the positive things in your life. Our writers wanted to share some of the things they are grateful for this year.

We hope this inspires you to reflect on and be grateful for all the wonderful things in your life.

Bethany: First and foremost, I’m thankful for my husband. We’ve been a couple for 11 years, married for 3, and he still finds ways to surprise me. These past few years we’ve been updating our home, and he’s been impressively handy when it comes to the endless lists of projects I have. His way of thinking is usually completely opposite of mine, and that’s why he’s my perfect counterbalance. Love you!

christmas-dinner-750362_1920Looking towards the upcoming holiday, my husband and I have THREE Thanksgiving dinners to go to, and I couldn’t imagine a better problem to have. I’m unbelievably thankful for our families, and also the simple fact that our parties are getting a bit crowded. We’re growing up, people are falling in love, bringing dates, creating families, and it is so much fun! This time of the year always reminds me how incredibly lucky I have it. I’m not saying this to brag in any way, because it’s true for a lot of us. Everyone I know has a home, a job, loving family, people who care for them, food to eat, and clothes to wear. These are things we take for granted, but need to be thankful for every single day.

Lisa: This holiday season, I am particularly thankful for good health and good medical care. In October, I had many doctor visits and tests for an issue that could have been a problem, but is now just being monitored. I also had two  ER visits – one for my dehydrated vomiting pregnant self, and one for my wheezing toddler. Thanks to access to good medical care and insurance, we got the care we need and are all perfectly healthy. Good health is not to be taken for granted and, I’m grateful for ours.

books-441866_1920Alison: I am grateful for the opportunity to be in school full time. One year ago, I never thought I’d be where I am right now. The adjustment from professional to student hasn’t been smooth but I have gotten through these last few months without my husband, family, friends and classmates who know exactly what I’m going through right now! Emails, hugs, wine and words of encouragement and food from my mom have kept me feeling sane and connected! 🙂

Marisa: I’m grateful for the people I work with. This of course includes my Strong is Our Sexy sisterhood, but also my colleagues and mentors at Women Writing for (a) Change and my private clients at My Writing Coach, and all the various professional connections I’ve made in my career so far. While work may be a source of regular stress, it’s the people I work with who make it fulfilling and worthwhile, with their wisdom, humor, patience, and positive attitudes. They help me #ownmystrong.

I’m also grateful for the many privileges I enjoy in my life. Especially as I look around at the events of the world today – terrorist attacks and the growing refugee crisis, racial violence, women’s & LGBTQ rights, human trafficking, hunger and poverty, to name a few – I cannot help but be humbled at how comparatively easy I have it, even on my worst days.

Jackie: I am grateful for my supportive and understanding husband who keeps me grounded. The past two years have been filled with lots of changes, like moving across the country and changing careers, but we’ve managed to come out stronger. We have both been blessed with wonderful opportunities professionally and I am excited to see what the future will bring.

I am also grateful for my incredible friends and family, whom I miss very much. With all of the things going on in the world, I am grateful for having a place to live, a job and an awesome support system. And lastly, I’m grateful for the opportunity to spend five work-free days at home with my husband and three fur babies. I plan on eating entirely too much food and binge watching a lot of television!

Happy Thanksgiving from Strong Is Our Sexy! We hope you have a wonderful day filled with love!

                                                   happy-thanksgiving-1061456_1280

 

This entry was posted in Lifestyle & Sisterhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.