Meet the Strong is Our Sexy Writers: Sally

Get to know the babes behind the blog! Today, we introduce you to Sally, who first submitted this amazing article on the many uses of honey as a guest blogger, and joined the regular team at the end of 2015. 

Name: Sally Pope

Age: 31

Occupation: Public Health Professional

Family: One fiancé + one feline fur baby + one pup fur baby = the apples of my eye. I’ve also got some pretty wonderful immediate family spread throughout the Midwest and the South.

Favorite exercise & fitness activities:

Sally practices a Crescent Moon pose on the pole.Pole fitness, pole fitness, yes please, pole fitness! I’m a bit of a fan. I started doing pole fitness a little over two years ago and haven’t turned back since. I’ve been an active person my whole life, but pole is unlike any other exercise I’ve ever done. Before my first pole class I thought, “This is gonna be cake! I’m pretty in shape, I got this.” Cake it was not. It was hard! Like, hard hard. I was so frustrated I couldn’t do the simple moves, that I had to go back to prove to myself that I could. By the second class I was hooked. Now, I’m hands down stronger and more flexible at 31 than I ever have been in my younger years! The way pole combines strength, flexibility, and dance is so beautiful. I love the high I get when I finally nail a move that I’ve been working so hard on. Plus, working out in the air is just about the most fun.

Yoga is a close second. Nothing feels quite as amazing as a good body and mind stretch. This is the one I’ll be doing when I’m 80. I want to be that Grandma in a headstand.

Favorite foods & cuisines:

This is akin to choosing a favorite child, but I’ll give it a shot anyways. For cuisines, it’s a real toss-up between Southeast Asian (Thai curries and noodles, Vietnamese Pho and delicious spring rolls) and Indian cuisine (samosas, naan, and korma 4EVA). I’m pretty sure I could eat both of those types of food for every meal of every day of my life and die happy.

On the flip side, I also love homemade healthy foods. My fiancé and I have a big garden where we grow a ton of vegetables every year, so a lot of cooking veggie dishes and canning goes into making sure we don’t waste all that bounty. Some of my favorite healthy foods are homemade pasta sauce, pickled Sriracha green beans, butternut squash risotto, and date energy balls.

Favorite outfits to bring out your Sexy:

Sexy, to me, is whatever makes a person feel that way- be it a fancy dress or a muumuu. If you feel sexy in it, then it’s a go. I’m a big fan of the simple: leggings, boots, and a sweater make me feel good. Barefoot on a beach in shorts and a tank top feels like my most natural sexy state (must be my Florida roots). Every now and then I do like to get dressed up and do the whole dress, heels, and makeup thing. That can feel pretty sexy, too.

What are you passionate about?

I’m passionate about creativity. When I was little I loved to draw, write, dance, paint, but once I became a teenager and in my ’20s, I barely did anything creative. I’ve recently rediscovered my love of exploring my own creativity with writing and dance. Writing makes me wake up and pay attention to every detail of life that is going on around me. Using my body for things like pole and yoga allow me to use my body creatively. Sitting at a desk for eight hours a day just about drives me crazy, so when I come home from work all I want to do is move around. I LOVE to travel, learn about different cultures, and hear people’s stories.

What do you do to relax?

I read mysteries. For me, there’s nothing better than lying under a blanket, reading a good mystery to chill me out.

Yoga is a good go-to when I need to zone out and stop worrying about life. I also love to just lay on the couch with my cat and my fiancé and watch Law & Order. Cooking, especially with a glass of wine or two on hand, really gets me out of my own head and relaxing, even when I’m running around chopping and stirring and grinding.

What does the “Strong is Our Sexy” philosophy mean to you?

For me, “Strong is Our Sexy” is all about owning your strength, be it physical, emotional, and/or mental. It’s about being comfortable with who you are and not compromising or bending to what other people want you to be. Everybody has their own definition of what “sexy” means to them and I think it takes a lot of strength in a person to honor that within themselves rather than to conform to someone’s else’s standard.

This entry was posted in meet the writers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.