Our New Year’s Resolutions for a Strong & Sexy 2016

Rolling into 2015, the SIOSisters had a rosy outlook. Bethany was going to honor her bond with her sisters with a new tattoo. Lisa wanted to stoke the romance in her marriage after their first year of parenthood. Alison wanted to break bad habits, like being glued to her electronics and letting her clutter go uncontrolled.

As we wrap up a full and fabulous year and look to the future, we took a moment to reflect on our resolutions for 2015 and set our sights what we hope to conquer in the year to come.

Bethany

I actually didn’t do too shabby with my resolutions from last year! Got my tattoo and everything.

In 2016 I would like to:

  • Make solid efforts to get together with people I don’t see all the time. I have a few great friends who live further away, and never got to see them once this past year! 2015 came and went, and although we talked about getting together, it just never happened.
  • BethanyResoltion Option 3Take a vacation with just my husband. The ONLY trip Eric and I have taken together, where we’re not tagging along with family or visiting friends, was our honeymoon three years ago. Even if it’s a destination just a couple hours away, I think we deserve a mini trip with just the two of us.
  • Finish the last two bedrooms in our house. There are STILL two rooms we haven’t really done anything to besides shove furniture in, and that needs to change ASAP.

Jackie

Overall, I did pretty well with my resolutions. Sure, I still have the urge to plan things, but for the most part I’m more willing to ditch the plans for something different. I’ve also taken a few fashion “risks” and it made me realize that trying new trends/styles is fun. I plan to keep doing that on a regular basis.  I also broke into television, which happened unexpectedly but it has been great.  Towards the end of 2015, my fitness goals suffered a little.  It took me a bit to adjust to my new work schedule and left me with less time to focus on some my fitness goals.

In 2016, I want to:

  • high-heeled-shoes-285661_1920Dance more.  Dancing is something that I truly love, and I don’t do it as much as I used to. To me there is nothing like going to a great Salsa club and dancing the night away. So I plan to go Salsa dancing more (at least once a month) and this is the year I finally  put my ballroom dance shoes back on.
  •  Travel both internationally and within the U.S.  With all the moving we’ve done in the past two years,  we haven’t had a chance to travel internationally since 2014. My goal is for the hubby and me to take one international trip and a few trips within the U.S. in 2016.
  • Accomplish my fitness goals. I try to set new fitness goals for myself each year. This year I’m focusing on three specific goals:
    Handstand Progress- This has been my goal for awhile but this year I am going to actively work on it.
    Work on Flexibility- I lost a little of my flexibility in 2015 so I want to regain that and hopeful make some new strides.
    – Attend Pole Expo in September- I have been wanting to go to Pole Expo since I started pole fitness in 2013, but it hasn’t happened. Now that I’m on the West Coast, I think this goal might be more feasible.
  • Take more writing workshops and seminars. I love writing, and one day, I would love to write for television. I know that taking workshops will help me improve and foster more creativity.

Marisa

I did okay following through on my intentions for budgeting and reading & writing: I made major progress on my apple-606761_1920novel, and haven’t run out of money, so I must be doing alright. But when it comes to respecting my limits, I think that must be the lesson I was put on this earth to learn over and over again, because I still fell into the trap of overloading myself in 2015. So we’ll call that one a work in progress and carry it over to the next year.

In 2016, I want to: 

  • Grow my business. After a little over a year of self-employment, I’ve reached the point in the road where I need to move from self-sustaining to growing. Change is scary, even when it’s good change, but My Writing Coach, LLC is definitely my No. 1 priority in 2016.
  • Stop neglecting my body. With everything else I’ve been juggling, my physical self-care has taken a hit. I’ve been noticing some red flags that are warning me to stop and pay attention before it gets worse. Good thing I’m in the company of the SIOSisterhood!

Sally

Truthfully, I don’t do official New Year’s Resolutions (I tend to fall off that wagon real quick), but something I just started doing at the end of 2015 was setting quarterly personal and professional goals.

day-planner-828611_1920

So, in 2016, I plan to carry this on through the year. Every three months I will create about 5 to 10 goals for myself to work towards over the next three months. At the end of those three months, I will review how well I met my goals, cross off the ones I’ve completed, revise the old ones I want to continue working on, and create new ones. I guess I’ll be making dozens of little resolutions for myself!

Lisa

cooking-991782_1920I’m happy to report that since I made my resolution last year, my husband and I found a great babysitter in our neighborhood and use her or my parents to watch our daughter about once a month. We go to dinner, movies, game nights with friends, and have more plans already in the new year. We also have been having friends over multiple times a month for game nights in our home after our daughter goes to bed. 2015 has been a fun and happy year.

My resolution for 2016 is to spice things up in the kitchen. I’ve gotten into a cooking rut, just making the same things for dinner all the time, and both my husband and I have gotten bored with the menu. I plan to try at least one new recipe each month, in order to find more meals for us to share as a family and step outside of our kitchen comfort zone.

Alison

Last year, I resolved to decompress at the end of every day by turning off electronics 30 minutes before going to sleep. I couldn’t have been further from meeting this goal! I have been working and going to school for the last year so didn’t realize how difficult it would be to juggle everything. I’m not giving up, though! I have another full semester ahead of me and will make this a little more feasible by aiming to decompress before bed 3-4 days per week.

I’m very happy with my de-cluttering resolution from last year! I’ve made a point to not acquire unnecessary stuff and am going through a major de-cluttering project as we speak!

handstand-496008_1920 (1)In 2016, I want to:

  • Learn to say ‘no’. I have a bad habit of agreeing to any request for plans, work, school, etc. It leaves little time for myself! I resolve to take on less so that what I do commit to gets more of my attention. The better I can take care of myself, the better I can be for those around me.
  • My fun resolution is to learn to hold a handstand without the comfort of a wall behind me.
____

There’s great power in naming and sharing your intentions, even if, like Sally, you don’t really buy into the whole New Year’s Resolutions thing. We hope you take inspiration from this post as you set goals for yourself in 2016.

Our Sisterhood is cheering you on to march forward, head held high and heart full of love, and Own Your Strong!

This entry was posted in Lifestyle & Sisterhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.