Hula Community Has Plenty of Aloha to Go Around

Kim was first introduced to hula as a young girl after tagging along to dance class with her cousins. After a fifteen year hiatus, hula has become a big part of her life! Since 2007, Kim not only found a community she considers family, she has had the opportunity to visit Hawaii with her hula sisters!

Kim tells us about this beautiful art form, sharing hula with her daughter, and how Hula is Life translates to Strong is Our Sexy.

hula dancer kim and her husband wayne

Can you tell us a little about the sport?

Hula has been around for a very long time. It’s a way for Hawaiians to pass down their history, traditions and culture to the next generation. Hula can be accompanied by chant, songs and/or implements. There are many styles of hula, ranging from traditional to contemporary.

How often do you practice?

We attend weekly classes at Hālau Hula I Ka Lā (in Toronto) on Sundays, which is why it’s known as “Hula Sundays” in our house. We spend quite a few hours at the studio.  

What has hula brought to your life?

It has brought a sense of ohana (family) as we work together for a common goal: to share our Aloha (love) with as many people as we can. We share our life’s milestones with these wonderful people we are happy to call family, and it’s just another life lesson to surround yourself with people you love and who love you.

Kim with daughter Stella who also practices hula

Kim with her daughter Stella

My daughter, Stella, also takes hula! I often catch her singing her mele (songs) and practicing on her own. I help out in her class, and I find it very rewarding to be able to share my love of hula with these adorable little kids who are so excited to learn.

Did you know many of these women before you started?

Some I’ve met through hula, but others I’ve known for many years and have reconnected with through hula. We’ve formed a strong sisterhood, and the bonds that have been made will last for many years to come.

Do you perform?

We’ve been hired to perform at weddings, festivals and community events. We also hold a year-end performance to showcase all that we’ve accomplished. I love to perform! I have such a great time sharing my love of hula with as many people as I can. I still get super nervous after all these years, though!

Have you been to Hawaii?

My very first trip to Hawaii was in July 2014. I had the opportunity to study under a very prestigious Kumu (hula teacher). After an intensive week-long class, my appreciation for hula and the Hawaiian culture was magnified that much more. I was fortunate enough to be able to return to Hawaii in July 2015 to complete a second year of study.

AlohaFest

What advice would you give to others interested in trying a new sport?

I’d definitely encourage people to step out of their comfort zone and try something new. It may be scary at first, but with an open mind and a positive attitude, the experience may actually change your life for the better!

What does Strong is Our Sexy mean to you?

“Hula is life” is an expression I hear often. To me, it means living your passion. I believe that Strong is Our Sexy signifies the same concept. To be strong is to surround yourself with positive energy both from within as well as from your outside influences. Strong can be defined as so many things, but if your emotional, mental, and physical states are at a place that makes you feel confident, then you radiate sexiness.

family

Kim with her family, including her sister and daughter, who also share her love of hula

This entry was posted in Health & Wellness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.