Those Heart-Melting Mom Moments When You Know They Love You

When my daughter was about 11 months old, she learned to hug, and was very into hugging. She thought it was so much fun to hug us, our dog, and her stuffed animals. It was very cute, and we just ate it up.

But then one night while I was nursing her before bedtime, she unlatched, looked me in the eyes and hugged my breast, then went back to nursing.

I almost burst into tears. It was like she was saying, “Thank you, Mommy. I love you!”

Curry_WhenYouKnow_photo1

I will always treasure that moment: the first time I really and truly felt like she was expressing her love for me. It also got me thinking about all the other special moments I have to look forward to in the future. I asked some other moms to share those moments with me, and you!

Heart-Melting Mommy Moments

“When Brady (4) was sick for about a week, one day that I was home with him and felt really bad, he looked at me and said, ‘Mom, thank you for taking care of me. I love you so much.’ He was so heartfelt that I could have cried.” Her 10 year old daughter also recently touched her heart. “Last week was my first week at work and school and I was stressed and tired. Keara picked up on it and slipped me a note saying ‘I think you deserve a surprise’ with one of her favorite chocolates. Again, it was so touching that got teary eyed. It is the little unexpected gestures that get me every time and realize why my job as a mother is so important.” -Amanda

“When Brady (4) was sick for about a week, one day that I was home with him and felt really bad, he looked at me and said, ‘Mom, thank you for taking care of me. I love you so much.’ He was so heartfelt that I could have cried.” Her 10 year old daughter also recently touched her heart. “Last week was my first week at work and school and I was stressed and tired. Keara picked up on it and slipped me a note saying ‘I think you deserve a surprise’ with one of her favorite chocolates. Again, it was so touching that got teary eyed. It is the little unexpected gestures that get me every time and realize why my job as a mother is so important.” -Amanda

“It was early into my pregnancy with my twins, and I was horribly sick. My 3 year old, David, told me to lay down on the couch, he then covered me up, got me my water bottle, and then laid with me and stroked my hair. It was such a moment that I started to cry, and he looked me in the eyes and told me it was going to be ok, he would take care of me until daddy got home.
-Megan

“I got some bad news and was crying. Eli (1) walked over, laid his head on my shoulder and just patted my back. It only lasted a few seconds but it made me feel loved.”
-Stephanie

“My 4 year old who is usually very contentious with me, put my head in her lap at bedtime the other night and sang “You are My Sunshine” to me for 10 minutes.
-Mimi

I’ll never forget the first time Bradley called me Mama. He’d been calling his dad Dada for a little while, but the first time he looked me in the eyes and spoke directly to me was so powerful.”
-Bridget

“I had horrible hyperemesis with my second pregnancy and my son, Dylan, was only about 18 months old. He loved smelling candles in the bathroom and when I would throw up, he would pat my back and put a candle in my face to smell.
-Julie

“My 20 month old daughter, Scarlett, went on a walk with her daddy today when he got home. While they were on their walk she picked a couple of flowers (dandelions) and carried them all the way back home. When she got home she started yelling ‘Momma! Momma!’ and gave them to me with a big hug. It melted my heart.”
-Ashley

“I know my 2 year old, Harper, loves me when she wakes up and wraps her arms around my neck giving me a sweet hug, a delicate kiss on my cheek, and whispers ‘I love you, Mommy’.”
-Jessica

Curry_WhenYouKnow_photo3

“One night, Aidan (3) and I were playing hide and seek. I hid, scared him and he jumped, tripped and slammed his forehead into the door frame. Immediate tears and wanting to be held by mommy to make it better. Never once did he question I would love him and make it (marginally) better. Also, anytime I leave the house without him, to go to work, the store, to the mailbox, to church, etc. and for any length of time, when I come back, Aidan says ‘Mommy, I missed you’ accompanied by a huge hug and a kiss.” -Jennifer

“My 2 year old, Sophia, talks in her sleep. When she talks, she always says something about mama. It doesn’t always make sense, but the fact that she is dreaming about me lets me know she’s always thinking about and loving me, even in her sleep.”
-Christina

Thank you Mamas, for sharing these moments! Here’s to many more!

This entry was posted in Strong Family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

