Spiralize ALL THE THINGS! Why I Love This Kitchen Gadget

Spiralizer Zucchini Noodles

Spiralized Zucchini Noodles

Over the past year I’ve noticed a trend in the cooking world: noodles made from vegetables. As a die-hard pasta lover, I wasn’t so sure at first about this carb-free-craze. But since committing to live a healthier lifestyle , I was willing to try anything that could let me enjoy my mom’s famous spaghetti sauce with a little less guilt. Enter: the Spiralizer. 

A quick Google search revealed that selecting which spiralizer to use would be the first challenge. Spiralizers range in price from the $10 As-Seen-On-TV option, to this uber intense slicer/decorator/”veghetti” maker that’s almost $200. Another thing to consider is how much space you have. If you’re in a tiny apartment without giant counters, a handheld version may be a wise choice. If you’re blessed with a bit more elbow room, then a spiralizer that sits on top of the table could work just great.

For me personally, I wanted to look into the KitchenAid Spiralizer attachment to use with my mixer. Any excuse to use my mixer more than the 3 times a year I actually bake is a good one. Yes, that option was a little on the pricier end, but in my eyes, it was worth it.

So I’ve got my tools, now what?

When it comes to spiralizing, certain vegetables work a lot better than others. The best options have a hard to semi-firm texture like carrots, potatoes, zucchini, hardy winter squashes, broccoli stems, and beets. Soft veggies like tomatoes, eggplant, or anything that has a core or hollow center, won’t work quite as well.

Since getting the spiralizer, I think I’ve cooked with it at least once a week, if not more. First of all, it’s SUPER easy to use, and secondly it’s so much FUN! The day we brought it home, my husband kept sending me videos of him peeling, coring, and spiralizing apples. Video after video of apples.

Needless to say, he was impressed.

Spiralizer Sweet Potatoes

Spiralized Sweet Potatoes

So what have we made thus far? We’ve tried Curly Sweet Potato Fries, Chicken and Zucchini Noodle Caprese, Stir Fry Zucchini Noodles, Sweet Potato Noodles with Spinach, and my “go-to” snack every night has been spiraled apple slices with cinnamon and sugar sprinkled on top.

Speaking of apples, I know I mentioned before that anything with a core doesn’t spiralize as easily. With the KitchenAid attachment, each of the blades is designed to core as well as slice. If this is a feature you think you’d be interested in, research which brands have this option before you buy.

There are SO MANY recipes out there that feature spiralized fruits and vegetables. Cook books like Inspiralized are dedicated entirely to this specific form of slicing; the options are endless! I can’t wait to try more, like making my own Baked Apple Chips, or topping a pizza with colorful veggie curls. How cool would grilled curly potatoes look on top of a burger!? Or eating a salad of zucchini noodles with chopsticks!?

GAAHHH I’m so hungry now!!!


What’s your favorite kitchen gadget? How do you make veggies more appealing? We crave your input! 

About Bethany W

Graphic Designer by day, self proclaimed decorator and creator of things by night!
This entry was posted in Strong Body and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

